AUECO is a volunteer-managed association of export compliance professionals led by an Executive Board elected annually by the membership.  The members of the Executive Board serve as the principle contacts for various efforts of the Association.  The information below about the 2020/2021 AUECO Executive Board team is provided to encourage engagement between AUECO members and the Executive Board team.  Members are encouraged to contact any member of the Executive Board team with questions about AUECO or the role of the Executive Board in the management of the Association.

2020/2021 AUECO Executive Board

Chair: David Ivey


David Ivey is a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin and Texas Tech University School of Law, he is licensed to practice law in the state of Texas and before the Supreme Court of the United States. Mr. Ivey practiced civil litigation and oil and gas transactional work as a partner in the Houston Office of Jackson Walker where he also served as head of the Houston Litigation Section in 1990 Mr. Ivey accepted an offer to join the Houston office of Baker Hostetler to practice civil litigation, environmental, and   International Trade law focusing in US Export Controls, Economic Sanctions, US Customs, and CFIUS reviews which he did from 1990 to 2011. In 2011 Mr. Ivey left private law practice to return to his alma mater, the University of Texas at Austin to serve as the Export Control Officer, Export Compliance Counsel, and Empowered Official for The University.

Vice-Chair: Marci Copeland

Marci Copeland has been with the University of California (UC) system for thirteen years and is currently Associate Director Export Control in the UC Office of the President. In that role she supports the UC system-wide export control compliance program. She has been an active member of the Association of University Export Control Officers (AUECO) and served three years on the AUECO Executive Board previously as Secretary.

Secretary: Jill Zimbelman


Jill Zimbelman has worked at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) for eight years, all within the Division of Research and Economic Development, and was appointed as the Export Control Officer in 2019. Prior to export control, Zimbelman served as the executive assistant for the vice president of research and as the program coordinator for technology transfer (including establishment of the intellectual property office at UNLV).  Before working in higher education, Zimbelman’s experience included working in technology transfer at Mayo Clinic and logistics as a Non-Commissioned Officer in the United States Army. She graduated from Winona State University with dual bachelor’s degrees in business administration and human resources management, holds a master’s degree in business administration from Cardinal Stritch University and a graduate certificate in higher education from UNLV.

Membership: Rebecca Haworth


Rebecca Haworth is the Senior Contract Specialist at the Florida Institute of Technology and is responsible for contract negotiations, intellectual property, and research compliance programs, including export controls and conflicts of interest.  She has a B.S. in Biology from the University of Tampa and a law degree from Stetson University College of Law.  Rebecca has been a member of AUECO since 2016.  Prior to joining Florida Tech, she worked in the Office of Research Integrity at Brown University, the Office of Sponsored Programs at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and in the University of South Florida’s technology transfer office.

Outreach: Bethany Nelson


Bethany Nelson has been the Export Control Coordinator for the University of Wisconsin-Madison for the past 6 years. Bethany has a B.S in physics from UW-Milwaukee and a law degree from the University of Wisconsin Law School. Prior to serving as Outreach Chair, Bethany served on the AUECO Executive Board as Membership Chair.

Treasurer: Brittany Whiting


Brittany Whiting is the Export Control Director at University of California, San Diego. Brittany leads export control education, licensing, and compliance program for UCSD’s $1B funded research programs. Brittany has held similar positions in higher education at UC Santa Cruz, in industry with Quantum 3D, a defense contractor, and Advanced Micro Devices, a semiconductor manufacturer with global operations. Brittany has experience in export licensing with State, Commerce, OFAC and NRC. Brittany has worked in more than 25 countries with international organizations, such as the Silicon Valley Center for International Trade Development and for the United Nations Environment Programme training customs officers on import/export licensing systems and with the U.S. Agency for International Development. Brittany received her Bachelor’s Degree in International Affairs and Latin American Studies at George Washington University, and holds a Master’s Degree in International Commerce and Policy from George Mason University.

Past Chair: Mary Duarte Millsaps


Mary Duarte Millsaps is the director of research information assurance for Purdue University. Mary manages established compliance programs related to the security of research information that, either due to federal law or contractual obligation, is subject to greater controls. Mary works closely with faculty and staff affected by these requirements.  Mary has oversight of the University’s Export Control compliance program and serves as both the University’s Export Control Officer and Facility Security Officer.  Mary received a BS in Economics from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Prior to coming to Purdue in 2005, she served in the United States Army as a Military Intelligence Officer. She joined Purdue as a Senior Account Manager in Sponsored Programs Services and has since held several positions including Pre-Award Manager and Director of Contracting, both within Sponsored Programs Services, and Operations Manager for the Office of Research and Partnerships.